From north to south of Argentina through its World Heritage Sites

In Argentina there are eight natural and cultural areas of unique
features that were declared by UNESCO as World Heritage Sites. Each
owns charm, and together forms a tourist route recommended especially
for foreign tourists visiting the country for the first time.

The proposal includes everything from cultural, archaeological and
historical walks, even the most extreme for those seeking a holiday
full of challenges adventures. The circuit covers almost the entire
national territory and calls the discovery of rainforests, national
parks, big stages ice ruins of the colonial era, traces of ancient
dinosaurs and multicolored hills.

The first of the sites that received World Heritage recognition was
the Los Glaciares National Park in the province of Santa Cruz, in
1981. Among the most recent is the Tango, inscribed in 2009 on the
list of Intangible Cultural Heritages The humanity. Over three decades
received the mention many other tourist attractions in the provinces
of Chubut, Córdoba, Misiones, San Juan, Jujuy and La Rioja.


The Argentine circuit sites declared World Heritage has its initial
kick in the coastal region, more precisely in the province of
Misiones, where two of them.

The first scenario to travel constitute the ruins of the Jesuit
Missions Guarani, recognized by UNESCO in 1984, which survived fierce
fighting over four centuries ago. A tour to experience the daily lives
and sharing Aboriginal missionaries who taught from art and science,
to organizing community groups.

The second stage of the province of Misiones is concentrated in the
Iguazu National Park, which preserves the famous Iguazu Falls, not
only declared Natural Heritage Site in 1984 for its beauty and great
biodiversity, but also elected last November as a of the Seven Wonders
of the World.

Towards the northwest of the country, it is the third protected World
Heritage site in the province of Jujuy.

This is the Quebrada de Humahuaca, selected by UNESCO in 2003, a vast
valley that stretches for 170 kilometers, between 2,000 and 4,000
meters high above sea level. Located just under an hour’s drive from
San Salvador de Jujuy (provincial capital), cultural and
archaeological route passes through small mountain villages with adobe
houses, ancient churches and ruins of fortresses that stand the test
of thousands of years history.


The Argentine circuit continues World Heritage sites by the Cuyo
region, concentrated on the border of the provinces of San Juan and La
Rioja. There are the Provincial Park Ischigualasto and Talampaya
National Park, which totaling nearly 280,000 hectares desert. The most
important value of these areas is preserved fossil remains, considered
among the most complete are known Triassic period, more than 200
million years ago.

Ischigualasto (San Juan), popularly known as Moon Valley, is one of
the main paleontological sites in the world, where remains of
vertebrates that inhabited the place, traces of footprints of
dinosaurs and petrified araucarias trunks are sighted.

Talampaya (La Rioja) stands out for its strong orographic contrasts
that make white deserts, stony embankments and extravagant ways
reddish carved by erosion from wind and water.


The fifth World Heritage travels the circuit recognized by UNESCO
sites are located in the region of the Centre for various parts of the
province of Cordoba.

It protected for more than a decade, it is the Jesuit Block and the
Way of the units that belonged to the Society of Jesus, distinguished
between Jesus Maria, Caroya, Santa Catalina, La Candelaria and
Altagracia. The route stretches for about 250 kilometers of mountains
and custody historical works directed by missionaries and built by
aboriginal ethnic groups that inhabited the area in the early
seventeenth century.


In the Patagonia Argentina there are three of the eight Natural
Heritage Sites that exist in the country. There, the circuit spans the
provinces of Chubut and Santa Cruz, where some of the most visited
tourist destinations in the territory are discovered.

The first attraction is Valdes Peninsula, in the province of Chubut, a
few kilometers from the city of Puerto Madryn. About 400 thousand
hectares of land and 176,000 other sea over the Atlantic Ocean, which
are a biodiversity of unique characteristics in the world. The
itinerary includes beaches with cliffs of great geological, caves,
mountain biking, sailing, diving and kayaking. One of the main
attractions is the marine fauna, with a population ranging from whales
to Magellanic penguins are sighted between June and December.

A few kilometers further south, Cave of the Hands, the second
patagónico recognized by UNESCO World Heritage in 1999, within the
province of Santa Cruz appears. A place of great archaeological and
paleontological significance, whose figures of hands and animals are
considered the oldest expressions of the South American peoples.
Paintings located on the river, near the town of Perito Moreno, the
cave is 170 meters deep and maintains more than 10,000 years of

The third, a few kilometers from the end of the world, is the Los
Glaciares National Park, southwest of the province of Santa Cruz.
About 700 thousand hectares for the preservation of a vast area of
continental ice and glaciers over 40 southern Andean-Patagonian
forest. Inside, it is one of the most visited tourist destinations by
foreigners: the Perito Moreno Glacier, about 78 kilometers from El
Calafate, recognized by the phenomenon of breaking starring every
three or four years.


Finally, the circuit by eight natural and cultural places of Argentina
recognized by UNESCO includes Tango, declared in 2009 intangible
cultural heritage. A musical genre and a popular dance that has its
roots in Buenos Aires (Capital Federal), during the last decades of
the nineteenth century, and surprises today in every corner of Buenos


American and European travelers can come with a passport and not
require a visa for stays of less than 90 days.

The official currency in the country is the Argentine peso, and
changes in travel agencies, exchange offices, banks, hotels and even
on the street.

Transport to airports or terminals must be contracted in advance and
be addressed in good time. Should you rent vehicles driving on the
right and routes allow travel around the country.

In summer (December to March) the use of light, clear and cotton
garments are recommended because temperatures exceed 30 degrees. In
spring and autumn, we must be prepared for rain. And in winter (June
to September) quite coat is needed.

Business hours in Buenos Aires are Monday to Friday from 9 to 20, and
Saturdays from 9 to 13. Large shopping centers and supermarkets are
extended to 22. In the interior, there is sleep nap and locals close
from 13 to 16.

Author Bio: I am Laura Carril a professional Travel agent from Buenos
Aires Argentina. I like traveling through my country Argentina and
through all South America. Another hobby I have in my free time is
writing articles relates to the trips I have made in South America.  I
am happy in providing with useful and practical information to other
people that wish to visit my region. You can find more information in
my main websites: and

Releated Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *